Lessons I’ve Learned: Part 1

I took some time to write down the lessons I have learned from being fat to fit and since I am still learning these lessons, it will be an ongoing blog post.

However, for now I have a 4 part series and I will give you one lesson per day and it all leads up to our “Summer Slim Down” program which I will tell you more about later…..

Lesson #1
Life is Too Short to Not Enjoy Every Minute…..

After I had my children I reached my heaviest at 217 pounds. And some of you may be reading this going wow, 217 that’s big. Then some of you may read this and think 217, that’s nothin’. Either way, I hope you find something here that you can relate to. We all have our own version of what is average, good, big, bigger and too big…. And that is a personal place.

Me Then....

I think of that day, the day I reached 217 and was about to purchase a pair of size 18 pants as the day I hit ‘bottom’. I was really miserable, I always thought I looked good and I had a good body image but at that point I was sad to see what had become of me in the mirror… Actually I didn’t even see me in the mirror I just saw fatness. And honestly I really didn’t see it coming, but there it was and I left the store crying!

I did not want to get any bigger and I knew that if I wouldn’t have taken immediate and drastic action that the only thing that would happen is, yep, you guessed it, I would get bigger.

I thought to myself, I have a great husband and two brand new children to share my life with only I don’t want to share my life because I am uncomfortable, frustrated and honestly embarrassed. I would never let anyone know that, but deep down inside that is how I felt. I lost myself and hated that feeling.
I remember that feeling of wanting to play with my kids but just not having the energy to do it. Carrying around all that extra weight makes you very tired and actually depressed so the oomph to get up and go just wasn’t there. It made me sad because I was turning down precious opportunities to share precious memories with my children that I can’t EVER get back!

As a family we would go camping and of course camping usually leads to some sort of swimming and I had to get a bathing suit….. I went for several years not wearing a bathing suit because I was just not happy with what I saw in the dressing room and then of course 2 pregnancies later ….. I had to purchase one of those bathing suits that was a full suit with a skirt thingy around the bottom….. I hated that and therefore, when the rest of the family was swimming I was hiding on the beach, hot and miserable again missing out on opportunities to enjoy my family and enjoy my life. You know there is nothing better than getting in the nice cool water on a really hot day, but being fat kept me from that joy.

More of me.....

And clothes, uggh, for several years I would not wear anything that didn’t provide full coverage. As a matter of fact I wore my maternity clothes for at least 2 years after my last child was born….. I used to hate going to work functions or to meetings in maternity clothes, especially 2 years after the pregnancy. I really felt unprofessional and quite frumpy most of the time which in turn made me shy away from business opportunities and building relationships with people.

I guess what I am trying to say here is, being fat gave me feelings of depression and self consciousness, it made me tired and grouchy and those feelings resulted in me turning down great things in my life and life is just too short to not fully enjoy every single wonderful opportunity that we are blessed with everyday!

So I started my journey to get back to a place where I felt alive again, confident again, a place where I was able to play with my children and swim with my family and have some level of looking good when I left the house! Boot camp and my friends from camp have been the biggest part of that journey.

I am still on that journey, I am not where I want to be exactly yet, but I am sure a lot better than I was 50 pounds ago!

Less of me Now...

I hope you are on your journey, I know there is something out there that will work for you if you haven’t found it yet. Today, make a committment to yourself to start something, make the first step and each day will get you closer to your goals!

It now brings me joy to help others on their journey…… to get fit, to lose weight and to feel happy again! I see it happen every day and invite you to email me if you are ready to take the next step and start on that road – I am here to help.

Your Friend,
Tiffany
Napa / Sonoma / St. Helena Adventure Boot Camp
http://www.napabootcamp.com

P.S. If you relate to how I felt or maybe you are in a different place but really want to get started in a fitness and nutrition program and work towards your goals we are starting our Summer Slim Down program on 5/17! Now is the time to get started! Click here for more information about Summer Slim Down

P.S.S. Stay tuned for Lesson #2 Tomorrow: There is No Destination….

0 Responses to “Lessons I’ve Learned: Part 1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Upcoming Events

January 8th -
8am -New Camper Orientation
9am -Sonoma Nutrition Talk

January 9th - all classes
New Camper Trial Begins
Register at:
www.NapaBootCamp.com

January 14th - 9am
Suck It Up Saturday

January 21st
9 am - Maximize Your Metabolism #1

January 26th
3:30 to 5:30pm
Boot Camp Body Transformation Contest Weigh In

January 28th
9 am -Maximize Your Metabolism #2
10 am -Boot Camp Body Transformation Contest
Kick Off Party
Register at:http://northbayadventurebootcamp.com/site/contest.php


